[Other] What are some good books to learnng....*

Discussion in 'Programming' started by Wrooks, Aug 13, 2016.

1. Wrooks

Wrooks Well-Known Member

I'm trying to learn three things.

How to code/use linux

website security
    and
    web applications attachedd to a phone.

For example one of my clients have a web business and they want to scan their merchandise with their phone to add it to the website.

2. iser

iser Well-Known Member

what's your skill level at the moment? i just started studying code in june.

3. Wrooks

Wrooks Well-Known Member

I know html, css,

I am trying to learn jquery and php atm

I know enough of programming to know what a loop is and an if/then else statement.

I coded some stuff in JASS but have since forgotten how to write in that language

4. iser

iser Well-Known Member

html/css/jquery have pretty much nothing to do with creating a bar code scanner mobile app that is tied with the currently existing inventory management system. you'll have to learn to actually code first.

i'm recommending javascript to start off because it is a language that is used very often, and no matter what you do, you will run eventually run into js. also, you can build almost anything with only javascript by using node.js and ionic. python is also great btw. that's next on my list to really learn.

- start off with FreeCodeCamp (https://www.freecodecamp.com/). finish the front-end module, and especially focus on the javascript algorithms. once you finish those, then you will be ready to actually start learning. for you to set the benchmark, it took me exactly 14 days to finish most of them (https://www.freecodecamp.com/iserbit).

- solve every exercise in the first 6 chapters of Eloquent Javascript (http://eloquentjavascript.net/).

- start solving Project Euler (http://projecteuler.net/). i just started on this one, and i've been recommended that solving the first 50 problems is a good starting point.